I Threw A “Stranger Things” Halloween Party And It Was Amazing

For the past few weeks or so, I’ve been piecing together some elements to create this Stranger Things party in celebration of the premiere of Stranger Things 2!

If you know me, you know that I’m a massive lover of Halloween, and something I’ve always wanted to do is throw a Halloween party for myself and my close friends. I figured there was no better time to celebrate than now!

DSCN6045DSCN6041

Going into the basement, I created an entry into Will’s famous abode, “Castle Byers”! I created the “Castle Byers” signs with cardboard and acrylic paint, and I got the “spooky” fabric from Dollar Tree.

For the food table (the most important part), I fashioned a little sign using some spare masonite I had nearby (you could easily use some cardboard/bristol board), some Halloween chalkboard stickers from Dollarama, and a metallic marker which reads “Trick or Treat YOSELF!” We absolutely did treat ourselves to taco dip, veggies, pizza, Halloween candy, and of course – Eggos.
The missing Will signs were made from a photo I found on Google images that I cropped and printed out on my inkjet printer.

DSCN6035

And of course, a party cannot be a Stranger Things party without Joyce’s iconic alphabet wall! I bought a bed sheet from Value Village for under $5 and used acrylic paint to paint on the letters (I’m aware that I missed the letter E… But I didn’t realize until my friends pointed it out to me at the party. Woops!). I hung up some LED Christmas lights and the wall was good to go! This is definitely a great way to make your Christmas lights last an extra season! 

DSCN6029

I also hung up some of Jonathan’s infamous photos of Nancy, Steve and Barb by the pool, which I found on http\://screencapped.net/tv/strangerthings/ in the Episode 2 album and printed out with my inkjet printer. I made sure to include my Canon analog camera just for the extra effect, and my Funko Pop Vinyl collection just for fun. 

DSCN6050

I bought the Demogorgon-esque plastic sheet from Spirit Halloween, which worked quite nicely with the theme. May not necessarily look just like the Demogorgon but it certainly added an extra element to the overall aesthetic.

I transformed my bathroom into the Upside Down! … sort of. Haha. I switched out my light for a blue light bulb, hung some blue LED Christmas lights, and spread silly string and fake spider webs from Dollar Tree everywhere. Not quite as creepy as in the show, but I still felt like Will when I was looking in the mirror!

 

 

DSCN6073

Of course Eleven and Mike made an appearance! Myself and my boyfriend Allesandro had a great time putting these costumes together at Value Village and I think they turned out pretty great!!

DSCN6059.JPG

Overall, I feel like this party was pretty awesome! My friends and I enjoyed our snacks, a screening of the first episode of season 2, and lots of laughter. I’m so glad I managed to throw this thing together and celebrate one of my favourite shows of all time. What’s next? Well, studying for midterms… But then, I’m bingewatching Stranger Things!!

DSCN6069.JPG

Happy Halloween! 

Leave a comment